NDIANA CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS: Indiana requires each food service establishment to have one certified food handler on staff. New establishments have 6 months to comply. If an establishment only has one certified food handler and that person leaves employment, the establishment has 90 days to certify another food handler. Each establishment must have a person-in-charge during every shift that can demonstrate knowledge of food safety practices. Indiana's certified food handler law requires an exam that meets the ANSI-CFP requirements. Training for the exam is not required, however training is beneficial in helping pass the comprehensive exam. Most companies that offer training and exams call this "manager" training rather than "food handler". Most food handler courses will not help you pass the required ANSI-CFP exam. The food handler exams without a proctor to administer the exam do not meet Indiana's requirement.
TRAINING OPTIONS Because the exam is comprehensive, some study is recommended.
Options for training include:
Independent Study - ServSafe Book: $65
Online Course & Exam: $155
ServSafe Class (includes book and exam) $165
ServSafe Exam Only $60