Awards & Recognition

Submit a High Five to recognize a coworker or group of coworkers for their outstanding work.

Awards & Recognition

Crooks Award

Dr. Paul B. Crooks Picture
Dr. Paul B. Crooks

Crooks Outstanding Extension Educator Award
The Crooks Award recognizes Extension Educators who have demonstrated excellence in Extension programming. Dr. Paul B. Crooks served as an Extension agent in Benton, Fountain, and Morgan counties before becoming administrator of the statewide Better Farming-Better Living program in 1954. He later served as Associate Director of the Purdue Cooperative Extension Service from 1962-82. Crooks also served as national president of Epsilon Sigma Phi in 1969, a group that recognized his leadership in 1973 with its Distinguished Ruby Award.

Please review the criteria below and consider nominating a deserving Educator:


  1. A cash award of $2,000 may be presented to one Purdue Extension Educator each year. Recipients may receive the award only once.
  2. The recipient must be a current Purdue Extension Educator.
  3. Selection emphasis will be placed on Extension Educators who have shown:
    1. Innovation in content and/or delivery systems
    2. Efforts to engage or support the engagement of underserved clientele
    3. Significant and sustained program impact over a period of several years
    4. Resource development appropriate to the assignment
    5. Contribution to team or other collaboration opportunities
    6. Contributions to the profession of Extension (professional organizations, presentations at regional/national meetings, publications in Journal of Extension, multistate projects, etc.)

All nominations must be limited to two pages, single-spaced, font size 11. A single set of supplementary materials can be provided for review by the selection committee.

Nominations for this award are submitted to the State Extension Director’s Office. Submissions must be in electronic form (Word or PDF) and emailed to Teresa Rogers at  A selection committee will be appointed by the Director of Extension.

Guidelines revised by the Purdue Extension Leadership Team, September 2011.

Frederick L. Hovde Award

Former Purdue President
Frederick L. Hovde 1908-1983

Frederick L. Hovde Award of Excellence In Educational Service to Rural People of Indiana

Established by a special gift from the Indiana Farm Bureau Foundation to recognize the contributions of Purdue University staff members to the betterment of rural Indiana. Learn more about the Hovde Award of Excellence

Information about this award will be communicated to the system from the Extension Director’s Office.

Corinne Alexander Spirit of the Land-Grant Mission Award/Past Recipients, Guidelines

Tenured and tenure-track faculty in the College of​ Agriculture, College of Veterinary Medicine, and College of Health and Human Services that are supported by Hatch, Smith-Lever, McIntire-S​​​tennis, and/or Animal Health funding. More

Distinguished Agriculture Alumni Award

The Purdue University Distinguished Agriculture Alumni Award was created in 1992. Each year, ten or fewer alumni are selected to receive the award. The selection committee is comprised of the Dean of Agriculture, associate deans, assistant dean for multicultural programs, academic department heads and unit directors. The Office of the Dean of Agriculture administers the program.

Nominees must:
♦ have a degree from Purdue University College of Agriculture (associate, bachelor’s, master’s and/or doctorate)
♦ have made a significant contribution to his/her profession and/or society in general
♦ have a record of outstanding personal and professional accomplishments
♦ exhibit high potential for future professional growth, particularly positions of greater responsibility, and service to his/her profession and to society: More 

For a complete list of College Level Awards, University Level Awards, Awards from the Provost Office, External Level Awards, information on the awards committee, and past award winners click here.

Ag Research

The Purdue Agricultural Research Award is our highest honor given to mid-career faculty members—those with less than 18 years experience beyond the Ph.D.—for excellence in applying scientific principles to solve important research problems. Recipients have, through their research, made significant contributions to agriculture, natural resources, and the quality of life of Indiana citizens. For more information, click here.

Millionaire’s Club

The College of Agriculture started a “Millionaire’s Club” in 2005 to recognize faculty in the College of Agriculture who have been awarded a $1M or higher grant. For more information, click here.

TEAM Award

The Purdue Agriculture TEAM Award was created in 1995 to recognize interdisciplinary team achievements of faculty and staff.Teams must consist of three or more Purdue faculty and/or administrative-professional staff. For more information, click here.

University Faculty Scholars

The University Faculty Scholars Program recognizes outstanding faculty members at the West Lafayette campus who are on an accelerated path for academic distinction. Eligible faculty must hold the rank of tenured associate or full professor and have been in that rank for no more than five years. Faculty Scholars are appointed for a nonrenewable five year term and receive an annual $10,000 discretionary allocation. For more information, click here.