Bartholomew County

extension news notice

Purdue Extension: Expert Resources for COVID-19
Read More ››

Home Vegetable Gardening Workshop - Flash Drive of 3 Recorded Sessions and PDF Handouts

March 16, 2020
Home Veg WkShop

UPDATE AS OF 3:30 ON 3/16/2020: UNDER THE CURRENT CIRCUMSTANCES, PARTICIPANTS WILL BE MAILED A FLASH DRIVE CONTAINING THE INFORMATION THAT WOULD HAVE ORIGINALLY BEEN OFFERED OVER THE ORIGINAL 3 SESSIONS. THERE WILL BE NO LIVE SITES OR REMOTE VIEWING AT THIS TIME.

If you have any questions, please contact Nikky Witkowski at nikky@purdue.edu



Dates initially were to include March 31, April 7, and April 14.

------------------------------------

 

Are you a current or aspiring vegetable grower?

Here’s an opportunity to learn from the experts about:

 

 

 

 

Session 1 — 

Getting Started in Vegetable Gardening

¨ Selecting Site and Plants

¨ Sizing Up Your Garden and Tools

¨ Soil Preparation Techniques

¨ Plant Spacing and Layout

 

Vegetable Varieties

¨ Types/Seasons of Plants

¨ Crop Rotation

 

Session 2 —

Pest Management

¨ Insect Management

¨ Integrated Pest Management

¨ Organic Pest Management

¨ Pest Identification & Pesticide Use

 

Session 3 — 

Disease Management

¨ Diagnosing Plant Problems

¨ Disease Management (Identify, Manage & Prevent)

 

Registration Fee:

$30/person– for all sessions (Includes flash drive of 3 recorded sessons and pdf handouts)

Register by visiting: http://puext.in/HomeVegSeries

 

13 County Contacts:

Bartholomew County—Cora Carter, Columbus, 812-379-1665, cora@purdue.edu

Dubois County—Kenny Eck, Ferdinand, 812-482-1782, kjeck@purdue.edu

Kosciusko County—Kelly Heckaman, Warsaw, 574-372-2340, kheckaman@purdue.edu

Lake County—Becca Koetz, Crown Point, 219-755-3240, busser@purdue.edu

Madison County—Beth Vansickle, Anderson, 765-641-9514, bleonhar@purdue.edu

Marion County—Steve Mayer, Indianapolis, 317-275-9290, mayerSL@purdue.edu

Marshall County—Bob Yoder, Plymouth, 574-935-8545, ryoder@purdue.edu

Morgan County—Michele Jones, Martinsville, 765-342-1010, jonesm@purdue.edu

Porter County—Nikky Witkowski, Wanatah, 219-465-3555, nikky@purdue.edu

Pulaski County—Phil Woolery, Winamac, 574-946-3412, pwoolery@purdue.edu

Randolph CountyAmy Alka, Winchester, 765-584-2271, aalka@purdue.edu

Shelby County—Scott Gabbard, Shelbyville, 317-392-6460, gabbardd@purdue.edu

Warrick County—Amanda Mosiman, Boonville, 812-897-6100, bailey1@purdue.edu

 



If you have questions or need more information, please contact: Nikky Witkowski, 219-465-3555 or nikky@purdue.edu

It is the policy of the Purdue University Cooperative Extension Service that all persons have equal opportunity and access to its educational programs, services, activities, and facilities without regard to race, religion, color, sex, age, national origin or ancestry, marital status, parental status, sexual orientation, disability or status as a veteran. Purdue University is an Affirmative Action institution. This material may be available in alternative formats.

Recent Stories